RICHLAND COUNTY COUNCIL SOUTH CAROLINA

SPECIAL CALLED MEETING

March 22, 2016 Immediately Following D&S Committee County Council Chambers

In accordance with the Freedom of Information Act, a copy of the agenda was sent to radio and TV stations, newspapers, persons requesting notification, and was posted on the bulletin board located in the lobby of the County

Administration Building

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Rush called the meeting to order at approximately 5:42 PM

SPECIAL ELECTION - COUNTY COUNCIL DISTRICT 10

Mr. Pearce moved, seconded by Mr. Jackson, to hold a special election, pursuant to State Law, to fill the recently vacated Richland County Council Seat for District 10.

Mr. Malinowski inquired as to where the funds are to come from to pay for the special election.

Mr. McDonald stated there are potentially three elections that could result from the special called election: the primary (\$33,540.90), a run-off (\$29,210.00) and the general election (\$33,540.90). If all three elections were to be held it would cost approximately \$96,291.80.

Mr. Livingston recommended the County Administrator review the expenditures and to make a recommendation to Council.

Mr. McDonald recommended referring this item to April 5^{th} Council Meeting for Second Reading, but to only include the costs for the primary and run-off elections in the budget amendment.

FOR

AGAINST

Rose

Malinowski

Dixon

Jackson

Pearce

Rush

Livingston

Dickerson

Manning

The vote in favor was unanimous.



Committee Members Present

Torrey Rush, Chair Greg Pearce, Vice Chair Joyce Dickerson Julie-Ann Dixon Norman Jackson Paul Livingston Bill Malinowski Jim Manning Seth Rose

Others Present:

Tony McDonald Warren Harley Kimberly Roberts Daniel Driggers Kevin Bronson Larry Smith Brandon Madden Brad Farrar Ismail Ozbek Michelle Onley Lillian McBride Samuel Selph Roxanne Ancheta Valeria Jackson Rudy Curtis Richland County Council Special Called Meeting Tuesday, March 22, 2016 Page Two

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at approximately 5:54 PM.

Torrey Rush, Chair	<u> </u>
Greg Pearce, Vice-Chair	Joyce Dickerson
Julie-Ann Dixon	Norman Jackson
Damon Jeter	Paul Livingston
Bill Malinowski	Jim Manning
Seth Rose	Vacant

The Minutes were transcribed by Michelle M. Onley, Deputy Clerk of Council