RICHLAND COUNTY COUNCIL SPECIAL CALLED MEETING January 29, 2002 6:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joseph McEachern, Chair; Anthony Mizzell, Vice-Chair; Joan B. Brady; Susan Brill; Paul Livingston; J.D. "Buddy" Meetze; L. Gregory Pearce, Jr.; Bernice G. Scott; Kit Smith; Thelma M. Tillis; James Tuten

OTHERS PRESENT: Michielle Cannon-Finch, Marsheika Martin, Larry Smith, Brenda Carter, Michael Criss, Milton Pope, Tony McDonald, Stephany Snowden, Ashley Jacobs, Jocelyn Jennings, Sherry Wright-Moore, Amelia Linder, Beth McLean Helen McFadden.

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order at approximately 6:07 p.m.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA - Ms. Smith moved, seconded by Ms. Scott, to adopt the agenda as published. The vote in favor was unanimous.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Regular Session: January 8, 2002 Regular Session: January 15, 2002

Ms. Smith moved, seconded by Ms. Scott, to approve the minutes as submitted.

The vote was as follows:

In favorOpposeLivingstonPearceMizzellBradyMcEachernMeetzeSmithBrillScottTuten

Tillis

The motion passed.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1. THIRD READING ITEM

a. An Ordinance to repeal Ordinance No. 087-01HR regarding electoral districts, adopted by the Richland County Council on December 18, 2001, and to enact an Ordinance establishing electoral districts for the election of members of Richland County Council pursuant to the United States Census of 2000 and in compliance with Section 4-9-90 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, 1976, as amended [PUBLIC HEARING]

The following persons spoke at this time:

Ms. Jessica Nates, Mr. Thomas L. Shea, Ms. Evelyn Bush, Ms. Annemarie Shupe, Mr. Lonnie L. Shealy, Mr. Danille H. Flemming, Mr. Wade Dorsey, Mr. John Rust, Mr. Helen Spearman, Mr. Robert Slimp, Mr. William McClanahan, Mr. Michael J. Watts, Ms. Kay McClanahan, Mr. Albert Abdelmor Sr., Ms. Tiffany Ginn, Mr. Gary Gin, Mr. Shell Suber, Mr. William Depress, Jr., Mr. Jim McCaulley, Ms. Barbara Ball, Mr. Zane Jackson, Mr. John Rogers, Rev. John C. Williams, Mr. Lonnie Randolph, Mr. Lawrence Moore, Rev. A.A. Dicks, Ms. Marie Green

Mr. Livingston moved, seconded by Ms. Scott, to adopt Plan EE.

Mr. Pearce made a substitute motion, seconded by Mr. Meetze, to adopt Plan C.

Ms. Brady made a second substitute motion, seconded by Mr. Tuten, to approve modified Plan-C.

A discussion took place.

The vote for the second substitute motion was as follows:

<u>In favor</u>	<u>Oppose</u>
Pearce	Livingston
Brady	McEachern
Meetze	Smith
Brill	Scott
Tuten	Tillis
	Mizzell

Before the vote was taken for Plan-C, Ms. Smith stated this motion was out of order because Plan-C has already been adopted.

Mr. Smith, County Attorney, stated because Plan-C was rescinded at the last Council meeting, Council could not re-vote on Plan-C.

Ms. Smith stated what would be in order is to defeat the motion to rescind Plan-C.

The Chair ruled the motion out of order.

Before taking a vote on Plan EE, a discussion took place.

Ms. Scott called for the question, seconded by Ms. Tillis.

The vote was as follows:

In favor **Oppose** Livingston Pearce Brady McEachern Meetze Smith Brill Scott Tuten Tillis Mizzell

Ms. Smith stated it takes two-third of the votes to call for the question. The discussion continued.

The vote for the main motion was as follows:

Oppose <u>In favor</u> Livingston Pearce Mizzell Brady McEachern Meetze Brill Smith Scott Tuten Tillis

The main motion passed. Plan EE was adopted.

Ms. Smith moved, seconded by Ms. Scott, to reconsider.

The vote was as follows:

<u>In favor</u> **Oppose** Pearce Livingston Mizzell Meetze Brady McEachern Tuten Scott Brill Tillis Smith

The motion was passed.

ANNOUNCEMENT

Mr. Mizzell stated all Council members are invited to Mr. Jim Gambrell.

Reviewed not yet approved.

Signed by,

Joseph McEachern Chair

Joseph McEachern, Chair	Anthony G. Mizzell, Vice-Chair
Joan B. Brady	Susan Brill
Paul Livingston	J.D. "Buddy" Meetze
L. Gregory Pearce, Jr.	Bernice G. Scott
Kit Smith	Thelma Tillis
James Tuten	_

The minute were transcribed by Marsheika G. Martin